List of chief minister of Odisha from 1937 to 2023

Naveen Patnaik is an Indian politician and writer who has been the 14th Chief Minister of Odisha since 2000, representing the Hinjili Assembly constituency. Since 1997, he has also served as the first president of the Biju Janata Dal.

chief minister of odisha
cm of odisha

Orissa Province was established on April 1, 1936. The province has been ruled by Maharaja Krishna Chandra Gajapati Narayan Deo, King of Paralakhemundi. He reigned until July of 1937. Following that, All India Congress party leader Bishwanath Das took over for another two years. The King took authority once more before handing over to Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab in 1946. After India gained independence and the constitution was enacted, the state began to operate on democratic ideals. Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab was the chief minister of Odisha until the first election, when he was succeeded by Nabakrushna Choudhury.

List of Prime Ministers / Premiers of Orissa

The following is a list of Odisha’s chief ministers since 1946. Odisha has had 14 chief ministers since 1946. Naveen Patnaik of the Biju Janata Dal has been the state’s chief minister since 2000, making him the state’s longest-serving leader.

  • First Pre-Independent Assembly (1937-1945)
  • Second Pre-Independent Assembly (1946-1952)
SL. No.NameFromToPartyDays in office
1Krushna Chandra Gajapati01/04/193719/07/1937Independent109 days
2Bishwanath Das19/07/193706/11/1939Indian National Congress2 years, 108 days
3Krushna Chandra Gajapati24/11/194130/06/1944Independent2 years, 213 days
4Harekrushna Mahatab23/04/194615/08/1947Indian National Congress1 year, 114 days

Name of Chief Minister & Incumbency

AssemblyName of Chief MinisterConstituencyTenure Party
1Harekrushna MahatabEast Bhadrak15.08.194712.05.1950Indian National Congress
2Nabakrushna ChoudhuriBarchana12.05.195020.02.1952Indian National Congress
2Nabakrushna ChoudhuriBarchana20.02.195219.10.1956Indian National Congress
1Harekrushna MahatabSoro19.10.195606.04.1957Indian National Congress
1Harekrushna MahatabSoro06.04.195725.02.1961Indian National Congress
 Vacant-President’s ruleVacant25.02.196123.06.1961 
3Biju PatnaikChoudwar23.06.196102.10.1963Indian National Congress
3Biren MitraCuttack City02.10.196321.02.1965Indian National Congress
3Sadashiva TripathyOmerkote21.02.196508.03.1967Indian National Congress
4Rajendra Narayan Singh DeoBolangir08.03.196709.01.1971Swatantra Party
 Vacant-President’s ruleVacant11.01.197103.04.1971 
5Bishwanath DasRourkela03.04.197114.06.1972Independent
5Nandini SatpathyCuttack14.06.197203.03.1973Indian National Congress
6Nandini SatpathyDhenkanal06.03.197417.12.1976Indian National Congress
 Vacant-President’s ruleVacant17.12.197629.12.1976 
6Binayak AcharyaBerhampur29.12.197630.04.1977Indian National Congress
 Vacant-President’s ruleVacant30.04.197726.06.1977 
7Nilamani RoutrayBasudevpur26.06.197717.02.1980Janata Party
 Vacant-President’s ruleVacant17.02.198009.06.1980 
8Janaki Ballabh PatnaikAthagarh09.06.198010.03.1985Indian National Congress
9Janaki Ballabh PatnaikAthagarh10.03.198507.12.1989Indian National Congress
9Hemananda BiswalLaikera07.12.198905.03.1990Indian National Congress
10Biju PatnaikBhubaneswar05.03.199015.03.1995Janata Dal
11Janaki Ballabh PatnaikBegunia15.03.199517.02.1999Indian National Congress
11Giridhar GamangLaxmipur17.02.199906.12.1999Indian National Congress
11Hemananda BiswalLaikera06.12.199905.03.2000Indian National Congress
12Naveen PatnaikHinjili05.03.202016.05.2004Biju Janata Dal
13Naveen PatnaikHinjili16.05.200421.05.2009Biju Janata Dal
14Naveen PatnaikHinjili21.05.200921.05.2014Biju Janata Dal
15Naveen PatnaikHinjili21.05.201429.05.2019Biju Janata Dal
16Naveen PatnaikHinjili29.05.2019incumbentBiju Janata Dal

Read also..

Salary of Chief Minister of Different States of India

Happy reading..

Leave a Comment