Women MP in Parliament of India

Women MP in Parliament of India. Present Lok Sabha has a total of 542 Members out of which 78 are Female Members. Present Rajya Sabha has a total of 224 Members out of which 24 are Female Members.

Present Status of Member of Parliament in Loksabha and Rajyasabha

  • Year 1952-24 MPs
  • Year 2014-62 MPs
  • Year 2019-78 MPs
YearLok SabhaRajya SabhaMinister

Women in ministerial position in Parliament

  • SHRIMATI NIRMALA SITHARAMAN Minister of Finance; and Minister of Corporate Affairs
  • SHRIMATI HARSIMRAT KAUR BADAL Minister of Food Processing Industries
  • SHRIMATI SMRITI ZUBIN IRANI Minister of Women and Child Development; and Minister
  • of Textiles
  • SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI Minister of State in the Ministry of Rural Development
  • SHRIMATI RENUKA SINGH SARUTA Minister of State in the Ministry of Tribal Affairs
  • SUSHRI DEBASREE CHAUDHURI Minister of State in the Ministry of Women and Child

Women Reservation Bill 2023

  • On 19th September 2023, Narendra Modi government introduced the 128th Constitutional Amendment Bill, 2023, Women Reservation Bill 2023 to bring in 33% reservation for women in the Lok Sabha and all state Legislative Assemblies. The Bill extends the quota to the seats reserved for SC/STs also.
  • The 73rd Constitutional Amendment Act, 1992 mandates 33.3% reservation for women in Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) across the country. It granted constitutional status and protection to the Panchayati Raj institutions
  • First Women Reservation Bill 2023 introduced 12th September 1996 and Passed in the Rajyasabha 25th February 2010 and introduced in Loksabha 19th September 2023.

Read also..

List of Prime Ministers from 1947 to 2023

Name of Political Parites / Rulling Parties in different states in India

Salary of Chief Ministers of Different States of India

Happy Reading…

Leave a Comment